Swedish Wood and Visby 2003

Where do I go?

In the summer 2003 I was testing my modest Swedish language knowledge directly in Sweden. In the first week I went by train along the Inland Railway to the north and for some days with a trolley on an inoperative track. In the second week I spent my time on Gotska Sandön and in Visby / Gotland at the Baltic Sea.

My 28 pictures with comments
in the large picture gallery ->
Picture gallery Swedish Wood and Visby 2003

The Journey: First I went by the night train "BerlinNightExpress" from Berlin to Malmö, then by the high-speed train "X2000" to Stockholm. From the Swedish capital I continued to travel with the train to Östersund. And finally after one night in the tent I started with the Inland Railway Line (Inlandsbanan) into the north.

The Inlandsbana is a tourist route, on which every day in the summertime a train starts in each direction between Östersund and Gällivare. During the journey I saw endless forests, many rivers and some isolated timber buildings. The Inland Railway makes food supply and experience stops again and again.

After some days in and around Arvidsjaur (Lapland, in Swedish Lappland) I went to Gällivare and then by the main train back to Stockholm. Nynäshamn is somewhat southeast of the capital. There I took the ferry to Gotska Sandön and later also to Visby.

Return journey: again via Stockholm and Malmö to Berlin.

Sweden Overview
Railway Station Vilhelmina Lappland: forests and lakes typical white-red-brown timber building View over Arvidsjaur
Vilhelmina Lappland Timber Arvidsjaur

On the inoperative railroad line between Arvidsjaur and Jörn you can take an inspection trolley to explore the nature today. The tourist office in Arvidsjaur offer the trolleys (one person plus luggage) for only 160 SEK per day (about 18 Euro in the year 2003).

The passable distance is over 75 kilometer long. I spent four days for going to Jörn and back again and also for being in the nature and taking a bath. On my way I camped at calm lakes. In these days on the trolley I saw more reindeers than humans.

After arriving in Gällivare I went with a guided bus tour down in the ore mine Malmberget. Four hours in the deep tunnels of the ore mine cost 200 SEK. The deepest visited place was unbelievable 1050 meter under the surface!!

inoperative railroad line to Jörn Bicycle trolley from Arvidsjaur Reindeer on the track many blue berries calm lake in dusk Malmberget/Gällivare in 1050m depth
inoperative Trolley Reindeer Blue berries calm lake Malmberget
      
16 seconds
Trolley Trip
(bad sound)
3,33 MB Movie Trolley Trip right button
"Save link as"

Gotska Sandön is the visible part of a long sand bank in the Baltic Sea. This sand island is about 38 km north of the Swedish islands Fårö and Gotland. It is nine kilometer long, six kilometer wide and at the highest point forty meter high.

The entire island is a National Park and consists only of coniferous forests and sand beaches. It is only permitted to pass the night in the north on the campground or in huts. You find there drinking water and a kitchen house, but no shop or kiosk. Three or four times the week a ferry goes to Nynäshamn and Gotland in the summertime. Because of no port or landing-place the ship has to, depending on the wind direction, drive "up" on the beach somewhere at Gotska Sandön.

Because of the few visitors and the empty beaches the island is like a paradise. Spicy forest air and a fresh sea wind let you feel the pure nature. Coincidentally I met on Gotska Sandön a family from Visby, so I decided spontaneously to go with them to Gotland. [Tack för allt en gång till!]

Gotska Sandön
Gotska Sandön Sea gulls in the wind natural coniferous forest Evening in the dunes Landing at the beach
Sandön Gull beach Forest Evening dunes Landing

The old Hanseatic city Visby is located at the west coast of the island Gotland. The city was developed especially in the 12. and the 13. Century to one of the most important cities at the Baltic Sea. In this time also many churches and stone houses and the city wall were build. Some Centuries later many buildings were damaged or just out of use. In the 19. Century Visby revived and in 1995 it was put on the UNESCO list of the World Heritage.

The 3.5 kilometer long city wall is a typical sight of Visby. It consists of limestone and is about eleven meter high and still kept nearly complete. Three main city gates and more than 50 towers a parts of the city wall. Barrier ditches in the east and the Baltic Sea in the west support the defense function. Within the city wall you find thirteen churches. But only the Dome Cathedral Saint Maria is in use. All the other church buildings are only ruins - but often kept in a good condition.

Visby City Center
Domkyrkan Visby S:t Hans och S:t Pers ruins City wall around Visby City gate Dalmanstorget Shopping lane Adelsgatan
Domkyrkan S:t Hans City wall City gate Adelsgatan

On the return trip from Sweden to Berlin I had few hours in Stockholm and Malmö to visit these cities. In Stockholm I was one more time at the old town island Gamla Stan. In Malmö I went to the southwest beach and was I looking at the Öresund bridge and the sunset over the calm Öresund.

This tour was an interesting kombination of being in the wide forests in the inland of Sweden on the one hand and having a good time at the Baltic Sea and in the old town Visby on the other hand.

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

Centralbron Stockholm Riddarholmskyrkan Stockholm Öresund bridge Evening near Malmö
Centralbron Riddarholm Öresund near Malmö

» Links

... more of Lapland   1997   and Baltic Sea strand   2000    2005

... more of Stockholm   1995    1996    2003
 

Final updated version: 2008/11/30
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Sweden Lappland Inlandsbanan trolley Arvidsjaur Jörn Gällivare Stockholm Baltic Sea Gotska Sandön Visby Gotland lake forest beach

external  HTML! CSS!

Schweden Wald und Visby 2003

Wohin geht es?

Im Sommer 2003 habe ich meine bescheidenen Schwedisch-Kenntnisse zwei Wochen lang vor Ort testen können. In der ersten Woche war ich mit der Inlandsbahn und einer Draisine in Lappland unterwegs. Die zweite Woche habe ich auf Gotska Sandön und in Visby / Gotland an der Ostsee verbracht.

Alle 28 Bilder mit Kommentaren
in einer großen Bildergalerie ->
Bildergalerie Schwedischer Wald und Visby 2003

Anreise: Zuerst bin ich mit dem Nachtzug "BerlinNightExpress" von Berlin nach Malmö, dann mit dem Hochgeschwindigkeitszug "X2000" weiter bis Stockholm gefahren. Von der schwedischen Hauptstadt bin ich mit der Bahn weiter nach Östersund gereist, um nach einer Übernachtung endlich mit der Inlandsbahn (Inlandsbanan) noch weiter nach Norden zu starten.

Die Inlandsbana ist eine Touristenstrecke, auf der im Sommer täglich ein Zug pro Richtung zwischen Östersund und Gällivare verkehrt. Unterwegs ziehen endlose Wälder, viele Flüsse und vereinzelte Holzhäuser am Fenster vorbei. Die Inlandsbahn macht immer wieder Verpflegungs- und Erlebnishalte.

Weiterreise: Nach einem längeren Aufenthalt in Arvidsjaur (Lappland) bin ich über Gällivare und die schwedische Stammbahn wieder nach Stockholm zurück gefahren. Etwas weiter südöstlich liegt Nynäshamn, von wo ich per Schiff zuerst nach Gotska Sandön und später nach Visby gelangt bin.

Rückreise: wieder über Stockholm und Malmö nach Berlin.

Schweden Übersicht
Bahnhof Vilhelmina Lappland: Wälder und Seen Typisches weiss-rotbraunes Holzhaus Blick auf Arvidsjaur
Vilhelmina Lappland Holzhaus Arvidsjaur

Auf der stillgelegten Eisenbahnstrecke von Arvidsjaur nach Jörn fahren heute Draisinen. Die Ausleihe der Fahrraddraisinen (jeweils eine Person plus Gepäck) wird vom Touristenbüro Arvidsjaur angeboten. Ein Tag kostete im Jahr 2003 nur 160 SEK oder umgerechnet rund 18 Euro.

Die befahrbare Strecke ist über 75 Kilometer lang. Ich bin an vier Tagen gemütlich nach Jörn und wieder zurück gefahren. Unterwegs habe ich an ruhigen Seen gezeltet. In diesen Tagen auf der Draisine habe ich mehr Rentiere als Menschen getroffen.

Nach der Weiterfahrt mit der Inlandsbahn bin ich in Gällivare noch mit einer geführten Bustour in die Erzgrube Malmberget eingefahren. Für 200 SEK ging es vier Stunden lang durch die Tiefen der Erztunnel. Die tiefste besuchte Stelle lag bei unglaublichen 1050 Metern unter der Oberfläche!!

stillgelegte Bahnstrecke nach Jörn Fahrraddraisine aus Arvidsjaur Rentier auf dem Gleis viele Blaubeersträucher ruhender See in Abenddämmerung Malmberget/Gällivare in 1050m Tiefe
stillgelegt Draisine Rentier Blaubeeren Seeruhe Malmberget
      
16 Sekunden
Draisinenfahrt
(wenig Ton)
3,33 MB Video Draisinenfahrt mit rechter Maustaste
"Ziel speichern"

Gotska Sandön ist die sichtbare Erhebung einer langen Sandbank in der Ostsee. Diese Sandinsel Insel liegt 38 km nördlich der schwedischen Inseln Fårö und Gotland. Sie ist neun Kilometer lang, sechs Kilometer breit und an ihrer höchsten Stelle gut vierzig Meter hoch.

Die gesamte Insel ist ein Nationalpark und besteht eigentlich nur aus Nadelwäldern und Sandstränden. Die Übernachtung ist nur im Norden auf dem Zeltplatz oder in Hütten erlaubt. Am Lagerplatz gibt es Trinkwasser und ein Küchenhaus, aber kein Laden oder Kiosk. Im Sommer fährt drei- bis viermal die Woche ein Schiff nach Nynäshamn und Gotland. Da es aber keinen Hafen gibt muss das Schiff je nach Windrichtung irgendwo auf Gotska Sandön auf den Strand "hinauf" fahren.

Aufgrund der wenigen Besucher und der leeren Strände ist die Insel wie ein Paradies. Würzige Waldluft und eine frische Seebrise lassen Natur pur erleben. Zufällig traf ich auf Gotska Sandön eine Familie aus Visby, mit der ich spontan nach Gotland mitfuhr.

Gotska Sandön
Gotska Sandön Möwen windschnittig am Strand unbewirtschafteter Nadelwald Strandünen am Abend Anlandung am Strand
Sandön Möwenstrand Wald Abenddüne Anlandung

An der Westküste der Insel Gotland liegt die alte Hansestadt Visby. Sie entwickelte sich im 12. und 13. Jahrhundert zu einer der bedeutendsten Städte in der Ostsee. In dieser Zeit entstanden auch die vielen Kirchen und Steinhäuser und die Ringmauer. Später aber verfallen viele Gebäude. Erst im 19. Jahrhundert lebte Visby wieder auf. 1995 wird die Innenstadt zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe erklärt.

Ein typisches Merkmal von Visby ist die 3,5 Kilometer lange Wehrmauer. Sie besteht aus Kalkstein, ist rund elf Meter hoch und noch fast komplett erhalten. Drei Haupttore und über 50 Türme zieren die Stadtmauer. Wallgräben im Osten und die Ostsee im Westen verstärkten die Abwehrfunktion. Innerhalb der Stadtmauer gibt es dreizehn Kirchenbauten. Aber bis auf die Domkirche Sankta Maria sind alle anderen verfallen und nur noch als Ruinen vorhanden - dafür aber oft gut erhalten.

Visby Innenstadt
Domkyrkan Visby S:t Hans och S:t Pers Ruinen Ringmauer um Visby Stadttor Dalmanstorget Bummelmeile Adelsgatan
Domkyrkan S:t Hans Ringmauer Stadttor Adelsgatan

Auf der Rückfahrt aus Schweden nach Berlin hatte ich in Stockholm und Malmö jeweils ein paar Stunden Aufenthalt. In Stockholm war ich wieder einmal auf der Altstadtinsel Gamla Stan unterwegs. In Malmö bin ich an den südwestlichen Strand gegangen und habe mir die Öresund-Brücke und den ruhigen Öresund bei Sonnenuntergang angeschaut und genossen.

Diese Reise war eine interessante Kombination aus Aktivitäten im Binnenland und den weiten Wäldern Schwedens einerseits und einem Strand- und Küstenstadturlaub an der Ostsee und in Visby andererseits.

Centralbron Stockholm Riddarholmskyrkan Stockholm Öresund-Brücke Abendruhe bei Malmö
Centralbron Riddarholm Öresund bei Malmö

» Linktipps

... mehr Lappland   1997   und mehr Ostseestrand   2000    2005

... mehr Stockholm   1995    1996    2004
 

Aktualisierte Endfassung vom 30.11.2008
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Schweden Lappland Inlandsbanan Draisine Arvidsjaur Jörn Gällivare Stockholm Ostsee Gotska Sandön Visby Gotland See Wald Strand

extern  HTML! CSS!