Skagen Strand 2005

Where do I go?

In the first days of October 2005 I went for some days to the northern end of Denmark. Only a few people walked through the beaches of North Sea and Baltic Sea (or better Skagerrak and Kattegat). The Baltic Sea had big waves, the North Sea was calm. Most of the time the sun was shining.

My 13 pictures with comments
in the large picture gallery ->
Picture gallery Skagen Sands 2005

Journey to the town Skagen: there are some direct trains from Hamburg to Denmark (Århus). North of Hamburg the train crosses the North-Baltic Sea-Channel by passing the bridge in Rendsburg. From Frederikshavn (Northern Denmark) the Skagensbanen goes to Skagen (2005: 35 min, 6,50 EUR). Near the station before the last station (Frederikshavnsvej) you will find the Skagen Youth Hostel.

The typical color of houses in Skagen is yellow. The roofs are orange and they have white frames.

Railway bridge in Rendsburg Houses in Skagen the strand (Baltic Sea)
Rendsburg Skagen Strand
Map of Skagen

The peninsula with the town Skagen on it devides the North Sea or better Skagerrak in the west from the Baltic Sea or better Kattegat in the east. At the ultimate place Grenen the strand dives into the sea. The spray shows you the mixture line of both Seas.

On the way from Skagen to Grenen through the beach of the Baltic Sea you pass some old bunker and one of the light houses in this region. The tongue Grenen is growing more and more into both Seas still today. Because of ebb and flow the tongue seems to be bigger or smaller at different times.

the grey light house (Baltic Sea) old bunker at the Baltic Sea in the backgound: the North Sea, in the front: the Baltic Sea the Top of Denmark
Light Bunker Grenen Lands End

South of Skagen some bigger dunes are situated. They covered for example the Church Laurentius (den tilsandede Kirke) in the 18th century. Therefore the church were torn down. Only the church tower is left.

Today there are trees on the dunes. But there are still some moving dunes. South of Damsted Klit the second biggest one of Denmark, Sandmilen, drifts also today into the Baltic Sea. I saw pure untouched nature around Sandmilen. A wonderful beach.

Moving dune Sandmilen near the Baltic Sea Damsted Klit: 30 metres high dunes untouched dunes Church tower in the sand no people
Sandmilen Damsted Nature Church Baltic Sea

Because the weeks in October are off-season about half of the restaurants were closed. In Skagen you find some supermarkets. At the harbour I ate a delicious fish dish with potatoes (11 EUR in 2005). In Skagen I had a relaxed holiday.

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

» Links

... Bornholm   2000   and Gotland   2003   with more of the Baltic Sea ...
 

Final updated version: 2008/11/30
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Skagen Grenen Sands Strand Dunes Heathland Damsted Klit Sandmilen Leuchtturm Bunker North Sea Baltic Sea North Jutland Rendsburg

external  HTML! CSS!

Skagen Strand 2005

Wohin geht es?

Anfang Oktober 2005 bin ich für ein paar Tage an das äußerste Ende von Dänemark gefahren. Die Strände von Nord- und Ostsee (oder besser Skagerrak und Kattegat) waren sehr menschenleer. Die Ostsee war aufgewühlt, die Nordsee ruhig. Meist schien die Sonne pausenlos.

Alle 13 Bilder mit Kommentaren
in einer großen Bildergalerie ->
Bildergalerie Skagen Strand 2005

Die Anreise: ab Hamburg verkehren einige durchgehende Züge bis nach Dänemark (Århus) hinein. In Deutschland fahren die Bahnen über die Brücke in Rendsburg über den Nord-Ostsee-Kanal. Von Frederikshavn (Norddänemark) fährt die Skagensbanen bis nach Skagen (2005: 35 min für 6,50 EUR). Unweit der vorletzten Station (Frederikshavnsvej) liegt die Skagener Jugendherberge.

Typisch für Skagen sind die hellgelben Wohnhäuser mit ihren orangenen Dächern und den weißen Rändern auf den Dächern.

Eisenbahnbrücke in Rendsburg Häuser in Skagen der Strand (Ostsee)
Rendsburg Skagen Strand
Übersichtskarte Skagen

Die Halbinsel, auf der Skagen liegt, trennt die Nordsee bzw. das Skagerrak im Westen von der Ostsee bzw. dem Kattegat im Osten. Am äußersten Ende in Grenen taucht der Strand in das Meer ein. Dort treffen die Wellen der beiden Seen aufeinander, wie an der Gischt zu erkennen ist.

Auf dem Weg von Skagen nach Grenen entlang des Ostseestrands führte mein Weg an mehreren alten Bunkern und an einem der Leuchttürme vorbei. Die Landspitze Grenen wächst noch heute immer weiter in die beiden Meere hinein. Durch Ebbe und Flut sieht die Landzunge mal größer und mal kleiner aus.

der graue Leuchtturm (Ostsee) alte Bunker an der Ostsee hinten: die Nordsee, vorne: die Ostsee der äußerste Punkt von Dänemark
Leucht Bunker Grenen Land-Ende

Südlich von Skagen befinden sich einige größere Dünen. Diese haben beispielsweise die Laurentiuskirche (den tilsandede Kirke) im 18. Jahrhundert so stark umschlossen, daß sie bis auf den Turm abgerissen werden mußte.

Heute sind diese Gebiete oft bewaldet. Aber auch heute gibt es noch einige Wanderdünen. Südlich von Damsted Klit weht die zweitgrößte Wanderdüne Dänemarks, Sandmilen, noch heute immer weiter in die Ostsee hinein. Ich habe dort einen sehr naturbelassenen Strandabschnitt entdeckt. Ein Geheimtipp?

Wanderdüne Sandmilen an der Ostsee Damsted Klit: fast 30 Meter hohe Dünen unberührte Dünen Versandeter Kirchturm menschenleere Ostsee
Sandmilen Damsted Natur Turm Ostsee

Da der Oktober schon zur Nachsaison zählt, hatten mehr als die Hälfte der Restaurants Winterpause. Skagen ist gut mit Supermärkten versorgt. Direkt am Hafen habe ich eine leckere Fischplatte mit Kartoffeln für umgerechnet 11 EUR (2005) gegessen. In Skagen hatte ich einen entspannten Urlaub.

» Linktipps

... Bornholm   2000   und Gotland   2003   mit mehr Meer ...
 

Aktualisierte Endfassung vom 30.11.2008
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Skagen Grenen Strand Sand Dünen Heide Damsted Klit Sandmilen Leuchtturm Bunker Nordsee Ostsee Nordjütland Rendsburg

extern  HTML! CSS!