Bicycle Tour Bornholm 2000

Where do I go?

In the following report I want to present a few buildings and landscapes of the island Bornholm and of the neighbouring Pea Islands. I saw them from my bicycle in the summer 2000.

My 16 pictures with comments
in the large picture gallery ->
Picture gallery Bicycle Tour Bornholm 2000

Bornholm is the easternmost island of Denmark and situated in the middle of the Baltic Sea between Sweden, Poland and Germany. Bornholm is nearly as large as the German island Rügen and a good place for going by bicycle and tent around the island. You can reach Bornholm by ferry from Denmark (Copenhagen), Sweden (Ystad), Poland (Swinoujscie on Wolín) or Germany (Mukran on Rügen). Taking the bicycle with you is hardly more expensive than a normal ferry passage.

The four Round Churches are typical and well known sights at Bornholm. They were built in the 12th Century and you find them in Olsker, Nyker, Nylars and Østerlars. The fortress ruin Hammershus is also very famous. It is the largest castle ruin in Northern Europe (free entrance, 2000). Hammershus was built around the year 1250 as a usual castle. Nine years later it was rebuilt into a solid castle fortress after the first destruction.

Round Church Nylars Round Church Østerlars Round Church Olsker Round Church Nyker Fortress ruin Hammershus
Nylars Østerlars Olsker Nyker Hammershus
Map of Bornholm

At Bornholm the varied landscape is very interesting and also somewhat unexpected: endless golden fields, deep dark forests, steep rock coasts and large sand beaches, hills and mountains. And everywhere you see small farms in the nature.

On Bornholm there is a well kept and often asphalted bicycle way net. Many ways are far away from the main streets on former railway lines. In addition there are also busses into all towns and villages.

Danish forest: Plantage Paradisbakkerne Near the Randklove Skår Coast close to Gudhjem Campground meadow near Rutsker Bornholm has many colors
Forest Paradisbakk. Coast near Gudhjem Campground Field

If you go one hour by ferry from Bornholm into the northeast you will reach the Pea Islands (Ertholmene) with the two islands Christiansø und Frederiksø and many smaller rock islands. Christiansø is 22 hectares and Frederiksø four hectares large. About 120 people are living on these both islands. And everytime the wind is blowing, sometimes also a very strong wind. Therefore the journey by boat (about 20 EUR, 2000) could become somewhat more adventurous...

Houses on Christiansø the smaller island Frederiksø Swan in the Baltic Sea
Christiansø Frederiksø Baltic Sea
Ertholmene - the Pea Islands

Putting up the tents in the nature (as it is possible in Sweden or Norway) is not permitted on Bornholm. But there are commercial campgrounds, which can be used only with a Campingcard and yearly mark (available at the campgrounds).

This is an insider tip: annually changing farmers offer the possibility to camp at their fields. At these marked places you can find fresh water, a dry toilet and a fire place. The night cost only 15 DKK (two EUR) in the year 2000. In this time there were seven of such places on Bornholm, which we could not find in any brochure. You will get the only information at the tourist office in the capital Rønne or in the net at external www.a7.dk

Cycling on Bornholm is really a great adventure because of the manifold landscapes and the good conditions.

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

» Links

... Gotland   2003   and Skagen   2005   with more of the Baltic Sea ...
 

Final updated version: 2008/11/30
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Bornholm bicycle Baltic Sea Round Church Nylars Østerlars Olsker Nyker Paradisbakkerne Pea Islands Christiansø Frederiksø

external  HTML! CSS!

Rad-Rundtour Bornholm 2000

Wohin geht es?

Im Folgenden möchte ich einige Landschaften und Gebäude Bornholms und der benachbarten Erbseninseln vorstellen. Ich habe sie im Sommer 2000 vom Fahrrad aus gesehen.

Alle 16 Bilder mit Kommentaren
in einer großen Bildergalerie ->
Bildergalerie Rad-Rundtour Bornholm 2000

Bornholm ist die östlichste Insel von Dänemark und liegt inmitten der Ostsee zwischen Schweden, Polen und Deutschland. Sie ist fast so groß wie die deutsche Insel Rügen und ideal zum Radfahren und Zelten (was auch schon viele andere Deutsche festgestellt haben). Die Anreise erfolgt am besten mit der Fähre ab Mukran (Saßnitz) auf Rügen. Die Mitnahme eines Fahrrades kostet kaum mehr als eine normale Überfahrt.

Typisch für Bornholm sind die vier auf der Insel verteilten Rundkirchen aus dem 12. Jahrhundert. Sie stehen in Nylars, Østerlars, Olsker und Nyker. Ebenfalls sehr bekannt ist Hammershus, die größte Burgruine in Nordeuropa (freier Eintritt, 2000). Der Bau wurde um 1250 als Burg begonnen und neun Jahre später - nach der ersten Zerstörung - zur massiven Burgfestung ausgebaut.

Rundkirche Nylars Rundkirche Østerlars Rundkirche Olsker Rundkirche Nyker Festungsruine Hammershus
Nylars Østerlars Olsker Nyker Hammershus
Karte von Bornholm

Sehr beeindruckend und fast etwas unerwartet an Bornholm ist die abwechslungsreiche Landschaft: endlose goldene Felder, tiefe dunkle Wälder, steile Felsküsten und weite Sandstrände, Hügel und Berge. Und überall liegen kleine Bauernhöfe inmitten der Natur.

Auf Bornholm gibt es ein gut ausgebautes und oft asphaltiertes Fahrradwegnetz. Viele Routen führen auch abseits der Straßen auf ehemaligen Bahndämmen entlang. Außerdem fahren auch Busse in alle Ortschaften.

Dänischer Wald: Plantage Paradisbakkerne Bei Randklove Skår Küste nahe Gudhjem Campingplatzwiese bei Rutsker viele Farben hat Bornholm
Wald Paradisbakk. Küste bei Gudhjem Zeltplatz Feld

Eine Bootsstunde nordöstlich von Bornholm liegen die Erbseninseln (Ertholmene) mit den beiden bewohneten Inseln Christiansø und Frederiksø und vielen kleineren Felsinseln. Christiansø ist 22 Hektar und Frederiksø vier Hektar groß. Auf beiden Inseln leben rund 120 Menschen. Und fast immer weht dort Wind, manchmal auch so stark, daß die Bootsfahrt (rund 20 Euro, 2000) etwas abenteuerlicher werden kann...

Häuser auf Christiansø kleinere Insel Frederiksø Schwan in der Ostsee
Christiansø Frederiksø Ostsee
Ertholmene - die Erbseninseln

Das geduldete wilde Zelten wie in Schweden oder Norwegen ist auf Bornholm nicht erlaubt. Dafür gibt es kommerzielle Campingplätze, die nur mit Campingcard und Jahresmarke benutzt werden können (beides dort erhältlich).

Ein Geheimtipp sind die jährlich wechselnden Zeltmöglichkeiten bei Bauern: an dessen ausgewiesenen Feldrändern gibt es einen Wasseranschluß, ein "W"C und eine Lagerfeuerecke. Die Nacht kostete im Jahr 2000 nur 15 DKK (zwei Euro). Damals gab es sieben solcher Plätze auf Bornholm, die in keiner Broschüre zu finden waren. Infos dazu gab es lediglich im Touristenbüro in der Haupstadt Rønne oder unter extern www.a7.dk

Radfahren auf Bornholm ist wirklich eine angenehme und interessante Reisemöglichkeit wegen der vielfältigen Landschaften und der guten Voraussetzungen vor Ort.

» Linktipps

... Gotland   2003   und Skagen   2005   mit mehr Meer ...
 

Aktualisierte Endfassung vom 30.11.2008
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Bornholm Fahrrad Ostsee Rundkirche Nylars Østerlars Olsker Nyker Paradisbakkerne Erbseninseln Christiansø Frederiksø

extern  HTML! CSS!