Abisko in Lappland 1997

Where do I go?

The following report is a small hiking guide for the Abisko valley in the north of Sweden. There begins the hiking trail "Kungsleden".

My 13 pictures with comments
in the large picture gallery ->
Picture gallery Abisko 1997

In the summer 1997 we went by train from Berlin (in the late evening) via Sassnitz and Trelleborg to Stockholm (late afternoon). The night train toward the Polar Circle started in the evening. After reaching Abisko and the lake Torneträsk in the north of Sweden in the following afternoon we had finished more than forty hours of travel. In the summer time the sun does not set in this part of Lappland for a few days. So it is never dark at night.

Abisko is devided into two parts: there is the old town with the supermarket "ICA" and there is the tourist station with a hotel and a little shop. In both parts you find a railway station: "Abisko Östra" und "Abisko Turiststation". The second one is situated already in the Abisko National Park (75 km²).

From Abisko you can see the mountains called "Lapporten" - the Gate of Lappland. Before leaving Abisko we took the cableway upwards to the mountain Njulla (1169 meters high) at midnight. But it was too cloudy to see the midnight sun (possible until July the 16th).

the station Abisko Östra large lake Torneträsk Lapporten - the Gate of Lappland Cableway after midnight
Abisko Ö Torneträsk Lapporten Njulla
Abisko Hiking Map

In Abisko starts the well-known hiking path "Kungsleden" (Path of the King) and continues toward the south to the highest mountain of Sweden, to Kebnekaise with more than 2100 meter. At first the path is surrounded by small trees, later you have only bushes and a great view into the distance. After leaving the National Park the mountain area becomes once more meager. Sometimes we still saw some isolated snow fields. The mountain massif of the Kieron was visible on the left side the whole time (Kieron means in native Sami language: Girun).

In the Abisko National Park it is not permitted to put up the tents anywhere. But there are two official places for camping: the first is situated at the Nissunjohka and not to far away from the railway station (and for free), the second campground is at the other end of the National Park and you have to pay something. The Kungsled is a good timber plank way which can be somewhat rotten in only a few places.

Camping in Nissunjohka Mountain Kieron / Girun River Kieronjåkka Bridge over Siellajohka
Camping Kieron Kieronjåkka Luxury bridge

We did not hike up to the Kebnekaise on the Kungsled. We just walked to the Kartinvare (in Sami language: Gárddenvárri, 1155 meter). The Kartinvare is a very good viewpoint into all directions, also in the direction of Kebnekaise.

large river Kamajåkka highest point of the hiking: Kartinvare View to the Abiskojaure Kungsleden continues to Kebnekaise
Kamajåkka Kartinvare Viewpoint Kungsleden

By the way the Abisko valley is the rainpoorest area of Sweden with only 298 millimeters rain in a year. And watch out! At the first campground (Tältplats Nissunjohka) our tent stood near by the river - and in the morning also partly inside the water!

Maybe one day I will hike on at this great trail Kungsleden.

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

» Links

... more of Lappland   2003

... more of Sweden, but by canoe   2007
 

Final updated version: 2008/11/30
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Sweden Abisko Lappland Tornetraesk Turiststation Lapporten Njulla Kungsleden Kebnekaise Kieron Girun Kartinvare

external  HTML! CSS!

Abisko im Lappland 1997

Wohin geht es?

Der folgende Bericht ist ein kurzer Wanderführer für das Abisko-Tal im Norden Schwedens. Dort beginnt der Wanderweg "Kungsleden".

Alle 13 Bilder mit Kommentaren
in einer großen Bildergalerie ->
Bildergalerie Abisko 1997

Im Sommer 1997 ging es mit der Bahn von Berlin (am späten Abend) über Saßnitz und Trelleborg nach Stockholm (später Nachmittag). Dort startete abends der Nachtzug in Richtung Polarkreis. Am darauf folgenden Nachmittag erreichten wir nach über vierzig Stunden Fahrt den Ort Abisko am See Torneträsk im Norden von Schweden. Im Sommer geht in diesem Teil von Lappland die Sonne für ein paar Tage nicht unter.

Abisko besteht aus zwei Teilen: aus der alten Ortschaft mit dem Supermarkt "ICA" und aus der Touristenstation mit einem Hotel und einer kleinen Einkaufsmöglichkeit. In beiden Teilen gibt es jeweils einen Bahnhof: "Abisko Östra" und "Abisko Turiststation". Letzterer liegt bereits im Abisko-Nationalpark (75 km²).

Von Abisko aus ist die Bergformation "Lapporten" zu sehen - das Tor Lapplands. Am letzten Tag unseres Aufenthalts fuhren wir noch mit dem Sessellift des nachts auf den Berg Njulla (1169 Meter hoch). Es war aber zu bewölkt um die Mitternachtssonne (bis 16. Juli dort möglich) zu sehen.

Bahnhof Abisko Östra großer See Torneträsk Lapporten - das Tor Lapplands Seilbahn nach Mitternacht
Bf Abisko Ö Torneträsk Lapporten Njulla
Abisko Wanderskizze

In Abisko beginnt der bekannte Wanderweg "Kungsleden" (Königsweg), der in Richtung Süden u.a. zum höchsten Berg von Schweden führt, dem Kebnekaise mit über 2100 Metern. Anfangs schlängelt sich der Weg noch durch kleine Wäldchen, später ist die Sicht in die Weite ungestört. Nach Verlassen des Nationalparks wird das Bergland noch karger. Vereinzelt gibt es sogar noch Schneefelder zu sehen. Auf der linken Seite begleitet uns die ganze Zeit das Bergmassiv des Kieron (bzw. Girun in der einheimischen Sprache der Samen).

Im Abisko-Nationalpark ist das wilde Zelten nicht erlaubt. Dafür gibt es zwei offizielle Plätze zum Campen: der Erste liegt am Nissunjohka und ist nicht zu weit vom Bahnhof entfernt und kostenlos benutzbar, der zweite Platz ist am anderen Ende des Nationalparks und kostenpflichtig. Der Kungsled führt streckenweise über einen gut befestigten Holzlattenweg, der nur an wenigen Stellen etwas morsch sein kann.

Zeltplatz Nissunjohka Berg Kieron bzw. Girun Fluß Kieronjåkka Brücke über Siellajohka
Zeltplatz Kieron Kieronjåkka Luxusbrücke

Wir sind auf dem Kungsled nicht bis zum Kebnekaise gewandert. Unser Ziel war nur der Kartinvare (in samischer Sprache: Gárddenvárri, 1155 Meter). Auf dem Kartinvare eröffnet sich eine großartige Aussicht in alle Richtungen, so auch in die Richtung des Kebnekaise.

großer Strom Kamajåkka Ziel der Wanderung: Kartinvare Blick zum Abiskojaure Kungsleden nach Kebnekaise
Kamajåkka Kartinvare Gipfelblick Kungsleden

Übrigens soll das Abisko-Tal mit einer Jahresmenge von nur 298 Millimetern das regenärmste Gebiet Schwedens sein. Und noch ein Hinweis: am ersten Zeltplatz (Tältplats Nissunjohka) stand unser Zelt sehr dicht am Fluß - und am nächsten Morgen dann halb im Wasser! Einen gewissen Abstand zu halten während der sommerlichen Schneeschmelze ist also durchaus empfehlenswert.

Eines Tages werde ich vielleicht weitere Abschnitte des Kungsleden kennen lernen und erwandern.

» Linktipps

... mehr Lappland   2003

... mehr Schweden, aber per Kanu   2007

... mehr Bergwandern - in Norwegen   2009
 

Aktualisierte Endfassung vom 30.11.2008
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Schweden Abisko Lappland Torneträsk Turiststation Lapporten Njulla Kungsleden Kebnekaise Kieron Girun Kartinvare

extern  HTML! CSS!