Stadlandet and Kjerag 2009

Where do I go?

In August of 2009 I was for more than two weeks in the western parts of Norway on the road. Besides the many imposing impressions of the way there were two major natural landscapes particularly noteworthy: the remote peninsula of Stadlandet with the Vestkapp of Norway directly on the Atlantic and the plugged stone block Kjeragbolten at Kjerag next to Lysefjord.

My 25 pictures with comments
in the large picture gallery ->
Picture gallery Stadlandet and Kjerag 2009

The trip north took us by car to Hirtshals, Denmark, and from there by fast ferry to Kristiansand in southern Norway. Later we took some more ferries, such as by the Hardanger Fjord. After two nights we finally reached the peninsula Stadlandet and the westernmost point of the Norwegian mainland: the Vestkapp.

Hardangerfjord Sværafjord at 0.43 clock goats caravan at the Vestkapp
Hardangerfj. Sværafjord goats Vestkapp

Stadlandet is part of the municipality of Selje, which is the northernmost in the Norwegian province Sogn og Fjordane. The Stadland is very sparsely populated and forested only in the valleys. Some of the 500 meters high mountains offer an excellent view. Also the many sheep on the green slopes enjoy the view. We have lived in the small settlement Honningsvåg.

Omnipresent is the wide Atlantic who is very upset. But occasionally he can be quite quiet. Stadlandet is the area of Norway which is closest to Iceland. You see this in the cemetery of Ervik where the older names are still written like in Iceland (for example Paulsdatter = Paul's sister). And the last name is the former name of the current location (Aarvig = Ervik).

ksmall village Honningsvåg at the western end of Norway Atlantic sheep shudder before sunset quiet ocean
Honningsvåg Westend the Atlantic shudder quiet ocean
old cemetery Ervik rocks in the surf
cemetery Ervik rocks near Ervik

Although I had traveled in the year 1995 for the first time to Norway, on this tour in 2009 I made my first glacier hike. The weather was moderate and the experience just great. Going as a small human on a large icy glacier tongue which is only a small part of a much more powerful glacier.

For several days we were in the western part of the Sognefjord, the largest fjord in Norway. The Låtefoss thundered down powerfully into a valley on our way back to the south.

glacier hike Bødalsbreen sun shudder in Bødal sheep march on the road Sognefjord near Rutledal rushing Låtefoss
Bødalsbreen in Bødal sheep march Sognefjord Låtefoss

A very worthy completion of the Norway trip was the day hike to Kjerag. Along the Lysefjord (west of Stavanger) you find the mountain range Kjerag which is more than 1000 meter high. The rock is smooth, polished, but very rugged - and of course not covered by plants.

In one of the crevices a about 5 m³ large egg-shaped stone is plugged between two rocks. Below him is a small, but 715 m high waterfall (Kjeragfossen). The Lysefjord is located almost 1000 meters diagonally under the stone. The cliffs drop up to 900 meter vertically. An extreme place.

hiking route at Kjerag

The 12 km-long hike (round trip) we completed in six hours. You will walk almost only on smooth polished rock. On some steep sections iron chains support you. In case of rain or fog it could be dangerous to walk to Kjerag. The stone is jammed strongly and in a stable way between the two walls of rock: I tested this personally by jumping on Kjeragbolten - and he remained fixed ...

smooth rock path at Kjerag impacted stone Kjeragbolten Kjeragbolten from above Kjeragbolten from the rear
smooth rock Kjerag Kjeragbolten from above the rear
plateau or balcony at Kjeragbolten 1000 meter downwards narrow deep Lysefjord
balcony 1000 m down Lysefjord

» Links

... more hiking areas in Norway   2006    1999   and further away   2008

... more of South-Norway   1995
 

Final updated version: 2010/08/19
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Hardangerfjord Sværafjord Stadlandet Atlantic Vestkapp Honningsvåg Ervik Bødalsbreen Sognefjord Låtefoss Kjerag Kjeragbolten Lysefjord

external  HTML! CSS!

Stadlandet und Kjerag 2009

Wohin geht es?

Im August 2009 war ich gut zwei Wochen lang in den westlichen Landesteilen Norwegens unterwegs. Neben den vielen imposanten Eindrücken von unterwegs gab es zwei größere besonders beachtenswerte Naturlandschaften: die abgelegene Halbinsel Stadlandet am Vestkapp Norwegens direkt am Atlantik und der eingekeilte Steinblock am Kjerag über dem Lysefjord, der den Namen Kjeragbolten trägt.

Alle 25 Bilder mit Kommentaren
in einer großen Bildergalerie ->
Bildergalerie Stadlandet und Kjerag 2009

Die Fahrt nach Norden führte uns mit dem Pkw quer durch Dänemark nach Hirtshals und von dort mit der Schnellfähre nach Kristiansand in Südnorwegen. Im weiteren Verlauf wartete noch die eine oder andere weitere Fähre auf uns, wie beispielsweise am Hardangerfjord. Nach zwei Übernachtungen schließlich erreichten wir die Halbinsel Stadlandet, auf der auch der westlichste Festlandspunkt Norwegens liegt: das Vestkapp.

am Hardangerfjord Sværafjord um 0.43 Uhr Ziegenkarawane am Vestkapp
Hardangerfj. Sværafjord Ziegen Vestkapp

Stadlandet ist ein Teil der Kommune Selje, die wiederum die nördlichste in der norwegischen Provinz Sogn og Fjordane ist. Das Stadland ist sehr dünn besiedelt und nur in den Tälern bewaldet. Von den teils 500 Meter hohen Bergen bietet sich daher ein hervorragender Weitblick. Den genießen auch die vielen Schafe auf den grünen Hängen. Wir haben übrigens im kleinen Örtchen Honningsvåg gewohnt.

Allgegenwärtig ist der weite Atlantik, der sehr aufgewühlt, aber gelegentlich auch ziemlich ruhig sein kann. Stadlandet ist die Gegend Norwegens, die Island am nächsten liegt. Diese gewisse Nähe kann auch auf dem Friedhof in Ervik entdeckt werden, wo die älteren Namen noch nach dem isländischen Prinzip geschrieben werden (beispielsweise Paulsdatter = Pauls Schwester). Und der Nachname ist die alte Bezeichnung des heutigen Ortes (Aarvig = Ervik).

kleiner Ort Honningsvåg am Westende Norwegens Atlantik-Schafe Schauer vorm Sonnenuntergang ruhiger Ozean
Honningsvåg Westende am Atlantik Schauer ruhiger Ozean
alter Friedhof Ervik Felsen in der Brandung
Friedhof Ervik Fels bei Ervik

Obwohl ich bereits im Jahr 1995 das erste Mal nach Norwegen gereist war, habe ich erst auf dieser Tour im Jahr 2009 meine erste Gletscherwanderung unternommen. Das Wetter war mäßig, das Erlebnis dennoch einfach großartig. Als kleiner Mensch über eine große eisige Gletscherzunge gehen, die nur Teil eines noch viel mächtigeren Gletschers ist.

Mehrere Tage verbrachten wir dann im westlichen Bereich des Sognefjords, dem größten Fjord in Norwegen. Der Låtefoss donnerte bei der Rückfahrt gen Süden nach einigen Regentagen kraftvoll ins Tal hinab.

Gletscherwanderung Bødalsbreen Sonnenschauer im Bødal Schafsblockade auf der Straße Sognefjord bei Rutledal rauschender Låtefoss
Bødalsbreen im Bødal Schafsdemo Sognefjord Låtefoss

Ein sehr würdiger Abschluss der Norwegenreise war die Tageswanderung zum Kjerag. Direkt am Lysefjord (westlich von Stavanger) erstreckt sich das über 1000 Meter hohe Gebirgsmassiv Kjerag. Der Fels ist glatt geschliffen, aber auch sehr zerklüftet - und natürlich unbewachsen.

In einer der Felsspalten hat sich ein rund 5 m³ großer eiförmiger Steinblock verkeilt. Unter ihm befindet sich ein kleiner, jedoch 715 m hoher Wasserfall (Kjeragfossen). Der Lysefjord liegt fast 1000 Meter schräg unter dem Stein. Die Felswände fallen bis zu 900 Meter senkrecht ab. Ein extremer Ort.

Wanderroute zum Kjerag

Die insgesamt 12 km lange Wanderung (hin und zurück) haben wir in sechs Stunden absolviert. Sie führt fast nur über glatt geschliffenes Gestein. An einigen steilen Abschnitten bieten Eisenketten zusätzlichen Halt. Bei Regen, Nebel oder Nässe würde ich diese Wanderung nicht gehen. Der Stein ist übrigens fest und stabil zwischen den beiden Felswänden eingeklemmt: ich habe das persönlich getestet, als ich schwungvoll auf ihn raufgesprungen bin - und er hielt...

glatter Felspfad zum Ziel am Kjerag der eingekeilte Felsblock Kjeragbolten Kjeragbolten von oben Kjeragbolten von hinten
glatter Fels Kjerag Kjeragbolten von oben von hinten
Plateau bzw. Balkon am Kjeragbolten 1000 Meter abwärts schmaler tiefer Lysefjord
Felsbalkon 1000m bergab Lysefjord

» Linktipps

... mehr Berge zum Wandern in Norwegen   2006    1999   und weiter weg   2008

... mehr Süd-Norwegen   1995
 

Endfassung vom 10.10.2009
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum -

Hardangerfjord Sværafjord Stadlandet Atlantik Vestkapp Honningsvåg Ervik Bødalsbreen Sognefjord Låtefoss Kjerag Kjeragbolten Lysefjord

extern  HTML! CSS!