Hardanger and Bergen 1999

Where do I go?

The following report is a small hiking guide for the western part of the Hardangervidda and the pathes to the Eidfjord. In addition I can show you some pictures of the west coast of Norway of the Hanseatic city Bergen.

My 22 pictures with comments
in the large picture gallery ->
Picture gallery Hardanger and Bergen 1999

In the summer 1999 we went by train and with a tent into the south of Norway. We took the train through Sweden and went to Oslo. There the famous Bergen Railway starts into the highlands. In the middle of the highlands we reached the railway station Finse in a height of 1222 meter. Finse is situated at the northern edge of the Hardangervidda (largest plateau of Europe). Inside the station building of Finse you can find a little shop with everything you need (in 1999) and a railway museum.

You can already see the Hardangerjøkul from the railway station in Finse. Our hiking tour took us approximately ten days. We walked on the western side around the circular glacier - and back again. The hiking pathes are always marked by heaps of stones and a red "T" which is painted on the stones.

Finse, Hardanger glacier und Eidfjord
Tramway in Oslo near the Central Station Bergen Railway Railway station Finse Glacier tongue Blåisen Woolgrass in front of the glacier
Oslo Tramway Bergen Railway Station Finse Blåisen Grass

After one night near Finse we slept for two nights on the half distance to the Rembesdal. For one day we climbed and hiked on the edge of the glacier. On the next day we saw a big lake with a dam at the end in the Rembesdal. The water flows directly from the Hardangerjøkul into this lake. Through a rock lug the water of the lake flows down to the Sima power station in the fjord valley.

Flowers at the glacier Rivlet on the glacier Dusk at the Hardangerjøkul strong contrasts - stones and ice Dam in the Rembesdal Rain clouds coming out of the valley
Flower Rivlet in the evening Ice Rembesdal Fog

During a further hiking tour we walked nearly one complete round around the lake and the dam to the Simadal. From the mountains we looked down into the Simadal and the following Eidfjord. The slope at the valley is by the way approximately 900 meters deep - a comfortably place for sitting and relaxing!

When we walked back to Finse it was good to have a round dome tent with us. This tent resisted a big storm with gale gusts and a lot of rain for a whole night. However some parts of the tent had to be weighted by small stones because the stony underground was not so good to fasten the tent.

Bridge over the glacier river Snow in the front and the glacier in the background steep cliff down the Simadal View into the Eidfjord
Bridge Snow and ice Simadal Eidfjord

At the end of the trip we went by train from Finse to Bergen and stayed there for two days before going back to Germany. In the second largest city of Norway it rains usually very often - but we had almost sunshine.

This was my first real wilderness adventure tour - without shops and daily routine around me. This was Hardangerjøkulen and Hardangervidda.

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

Central square in Bergen the old multicolored Bergen Bryggen in Bergen View from Fløyen down on Bergen last stop: Malmö
Torget Bergen Bryggen Bergen Fløyen Malmö
City center of Bergen

» Links

... more hiking areas in Norway   2006

... more of Oslo, Bergen and South-Norway   1995
 

Final updated version: 2008/11/30
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Hardanger Hardangerjøkulen Hardangervidda Finse Blåisen plateau Rembesdal Simadal Eidfjord Bergen Bryggen

external  HTML! CSS!

Hardanger und Bergen 1999

Wohin geht es?

Der folgende Bericht ist ein kleiner Wanderführer für den westlichen Teil der Hardangervidda bis hin zum Eidfjord. Außerdem gibt es noch ein paar Impressionen von der Westküste Norwegens aus der Hansestadt Bergen.

Alle 22 Bilder mit Kommentaren
in einer großen Bildergalerie ->
Bildergalerie Hardanger und Bergen 1999

Im Sommer 1999 war Süd-Norwegen unser Ziel. Mit der Bahn sind wir durch Schweden und Oslo schließlich mit der berühmten Bergenbahn gefahren. Mitten im Hochland in 1222 Metern Höhe über Null liegt der Bahnhof Finse am nördlichen Rand der Hardangervidda (größte Hochebene Europas). Im Bahnhof Finse gibt es eine kleine Einkaufsmöglichkeit und ein Eisenbahnmuseum.

In Sichtweite von Finse liegt bereits der Gletscher Hardangerjøkul. Wir sind in rund zehn Tagen westlich um den kreisförmigen Gletscher gewandert - und dann wieder zurück. Die Wanderwege sind immer mit Steinhaufen und einem roten "T" gekennzeichnet.

Finse, Hardangergletscher und Eidfjord
Tram in Oslo am Bahnhof auf der Bergenbahn Schneepflug am Bahnhof Finse Gletscherzunge Blåisen Wollgras am Gletscher
Oslo Tram Bergenbahn Bf Finse Blåisen Wollgras

Nach einer Übernachtung bei Finse haben wir für zwei Nächte auf der halben Strecke zum Rembesdal gezeltet. An einem Tag stand ein Ausflug auf den Rand des Gletschers auf dem Programm. Tags darauf sind wir zum Rembesdal gewandert und sahen den engen Stausee, der vom Hardangerjøkul genährt wird. Durch einen Felsstollen schießt das Wasser des Sees zum Sima-Kraftwerk im Fjordtal.

blühende Blumen am Gletscher Rinnsal auf dem Gletscher Abenddämmerung Hardangerjøkul starke Kontraste - Geröll und Eis Stausee im Rembesdal Regenwolken aus dem Tal
Blume Rinnsal abends Eis Rembesdal Nebel

Während einer weiteren Tagestour sind wir fast komplett um den Stausee zum Simadal gewandert. Vom Berghang aus schauten wir in den entfernten Eidfjord, der die Fortsetzung des Simadals ist. Der senkrechte Abhang über dem Tal ist übrigens rund 900 Meter tief - ein gemütlicher Platz zum Sitzen und Genießen!

Auf der Rückwanderung nach Finse hat sich mein rundes Kuppelzelt sehr gut bewehrt: bei einem heftigen Sturm mit Orkanböen und Regenschauern blieb das Zelt die ganze Nacht hindurch standhaft. Allerdings mussten alle Heringe mit kleinen Felsblöcken beschwert werden, da der steinige Untergrund eher ungünstig zum Verankern war.

Brücke am Gletscherfluß Schneescholle und hinten der Gletscher steile Klippe ins Simadal Blick bis in den Eidfjord
Brücke Schneescholle Simadal Eidfjord

Von Finse aus fuhren wir am Ende der Reise noch weiter nach Bergen und erst dann zurück nach Deutschland. In der zweitgrößten norwegischen Stadt regnet es normalerweise sehr oft - wir hatten aber fast nur Sonnenschein.

Damit endet eine meiner ersten intensiven Wandertouren durch die Wildnis - ohne Zivilisation und Alltagsgeschäfte in der Umgebung. Das war Hardangerjøkulen und Hardangervidda.

zentraler Platz in Bergen altes buntes Bergen Bryggen in Bergen Blick auf Bergen vom Fløyen Zwischenstopp in Malmö
Torget Bergen Bryggen Bergen Fløyen Malmö
Innenstadt Bergen

» Linktipps

... mehr Wanderurlaub in Norwegen   2006

... mehr Oslo, Bergen und Süd-Norwegen   1995
 

Aktualisierte Endfassung vom 30.11.2008
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Hardanger Hardangerjøkulen Hardangervidda Finse Blåisen Wollgras Hochebene Rembesdal Simadal Eidfjord Bergen Bryggen

extern  HTML! CSS!