Svalbard - Spitsbergen 2008

Where do I go?

The archipelago Svalbard: former home of polar explorers, adventurers and discoverers. Far away from Central Europe. Just a dream. In younger age I only read from Spitsbergen. In August 2008 I was there for twelve days and twelve bright nights.

From the area of Longyearbyen 32 photos
in the large picture gallery 1 ->
Picture gallery 1 - Spitsbergen 2008
From distant places of Spitsbergen 40 photos
in the large picture gallery 2 ->
Picture gallery 2 - Spitsbergen 2008
the arctic

Since many years expensive cruisers go already far to the north to the icy polar cap - and also to Spitsbergen. For such a tour it was necessary to save a lot of money. In summer 2007 I saw incidentally that flights to Spitsbergen and tenting at the campsite (next to the air field, 90 NOK in 2008) could be a surprising affordable combination for having a great time near the end of the world. A word (an idea) and a blow.

It was bright. It was cold. It was an adventure.

Airfield near the fjord Campsite building Bird's eye view Frost splitting Glacier 35 km away Isfjord at night
Airfield Tent Bird's view Frost far away Isfjord

There are different names for the archipelago. Sometimes it is called "Spitsbergen". The Norwegians who have the sovereignty of the islands say "Svalbard". (Vest-)Spitsbergen is actually the largest and the only inhabited island.

The most important settlemet is the Norwegian city Longyearbyen which is situated inside the Longyeardal and along the Adventfjord. And this fjord is the flooded end of the Adventdal. It flows into the large Isfjord. Apart from Longyearbyen you find two more Norwegian settlements and one of former two Russian cities.

Adventfjord the settlement Hiorthhamn Coal harbour Longyearbyen shopping street Old Longyearbyen and its church View down the valley
Adventfjord Hiorthhamn Coal harbour Longyearbyen Districts the valley

At the turn of the second last century many mining companies were in search of mineral resources on Spitsbergen. They builded the first coal mines into the mountains.

The coal seam was 80 to 120 cm thick and in about 300 to 400 m above the sea level of the fjords. Therefore the mined coal only needed to be transported from the mountainside down to the harbour. That has been done by aerial cableways for centuries. Still today the wooden pillars characterize the view of this place.

good coal old Mine no 1 at the mountain Mine 2 / Gruve 2 Longyeardalen Aerial cableway head Coal transportation 100 years ago
good coal Mine 1 Mine 2 Longyeardal Cableway Coal transport

The risk of meeting a polar bear outside of Longyearbyen is the reason to take a proper gun with you on hiking tours. On guided trips the guide takes the necessary technical equipment and experience with himself. Meanwhile many tour organisers offer you hours, day and longer tours in and around Longyearbyen.

wide Adventdalen Svalbard poppy on the Larsbreen (glacier) Trollsteinen Svalsat in the distance old snowfields
Adventdalen Poppy Larsbreen Trollsteinen Svalsat old snow

The weather was somewhat colder and wetter in August 2008 than on average. The temperature was all the time below 10 degrees. In the mountains we had sometimes frost at night. Precipitation in a kind of drizzle or steady rain was not rare. One morning there was snow around and on the tents. And the word "night" means in summertime "sunshine somewhat over the horizon". Darkness you just find inside the coal mines.

On the one hand Spitsbergen in general is pure wilderness, on the other hand Longyearbyen is a small village like every other in Northern Europe: with a supermarket, a post office, restaurants, schools, some outdoor shops and a library.

View on to the glacier put on for winter time Hiorthfjellet one more coal mine at the top inside the snow clouds Advent river delta
Ice view Reindeer Hiorthfjellet Coal mine at the top Adventdelta

Different ships offer day trips to fjords and glaciers in the surrounding. On the way to the Russian settlement Barentsburg for example the ship stops first at the glacier edge of the Esmarkbreen. Not expected and therefore very surprisingly I saw one polar bear at the shore near the glacier.

on board of Polargirl Esmarkbreen at the Isfjord Ship size in front of glacier the Polar Bear Barentsburg Russian settlement
Polargirl Esmarkbreen Ship size the Bear Barentsburg Russian
Svalbard

Having seen the bear a moment ago we (five persons) started a four days hike across the wilderness from Barentsburg back to Longyearbyen. If everything goes right...
And at night we had the "relaxed" feeling that the signal wire around the tents and the rockets make this place saver from polar bears.

It was a nice tingling after had been crossing knee-deep the hardly more than 0 degree C cold river. And the blood circulation was activated again inside the naked feet.

Mind the polar bear on and on Tents Signal wire cross the river at nearly 0 degree C
Warning on and on Tents Wire Crossing

When waking up after the second night in the wilderness everything seemed so bright. Opening the tent is showing the result: it had been snowing for hours. The deep rutted mountains with its endless pebble deserts are for themselves hardly describable or subsumable. But with a fresh white snow cap at the tops they appear in a totally different way. It is August.

Snow in the morning Hiking group wide Colesdalen Synndalen Snow mountains all the day Grumantbyen at the shore
Snow night Hiking Colesdalen Synndalen icy mountains Grumantbyen

During the four hiking days we did not see any more polar bears. Also at night nobody was apparent around the tents. On the last of the four days we saw new footprints of a bear on a snow field. Later I heard that a young polar bear had to been shot not far away from us while he had attacked a person.

August in 78 degrees north Svalsat on the plateau NASA ball Lighting effect on the Isfjord
August Plateau NASA Lighting

The second boat trip led me into the east to one end of the Isfjord and the Russian settlement Pyramiden and the eponymous mountain beyond it. But this time without a following hiking tour for myself. For a long time Pyramiden was the second Soviet settlement on Spitsbergen. Some years ago it was abandoned. Today it is a ghost town.

2nd tour by ship Pyramiden Soviet arcitecture Gull city respectively ghost town Coal inside the mountain
2nd tour Pyramiden Soviet Gull city Coal inside
Arts and leisure centre old times nearly 80 degrees North Logging-path on water pipes
History old times near 80 deg Water way

After the guided tour through Pyramiden the boat trip continued to the large glacier Nordenskjøldbreen. During this trip I reached my (temporary) northernmost position in 78 degrees and 40 minutes North. Most of the discoverers and explorers just started in these latitudes in the last centuries. And this without the today's technical equipment.

to the glacier End of fjord at the glacier Nordenskjøldbreen different types of weather Snow caps on the tops
Course Fjord end Nordenskjø. Weather Snow cap

On the way back to Longyearbyen I saw one of the most beautiful and formidable mountain landscape in my life. From the ship I admired Bünsowland with its snow covered craggy rock faces. When will I come back to Spitsbergen?

When will I come back to Svalbard? For how long Spitsbergen will still look like today?

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

Billefjord Snow ridge at the head striking Bünsowland steep downhill craggy rock
Billefjord Snow ridge Bünsowland steep craggy

» Links

... my second travel to Svalbard   2010

... more artic adventures: 2x Iceland   2002    2010  and Faroe Islands   1998
 

Final updated version: 2008/11/30
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Svalbard Spitsbergen Longyearbyen Isfjord Adventdal coal polar bear snow fjord glacier Barentsburg Esmarkbreen Colesdal Pyramiden Nordenskjøldbreen Bünsowland

external  HTML! CSS!

Svalbard - Spitzbergen 2008

Wohin geht es?

Die Inselgruppe Spitzbergen: frühere Heimat der Polarforscher, Abenteurer und Entdecker. Für Mitteleuropäer ist sie gefühlt sehr weit entfernt. Nur ein Traum. In jungen Jahren konnte ich von Spitzbergen nur lesen. Im August 2008 war ich für zwölf Tage und zwölf helle Nächte dort.

Aus der Umgebung von Longyearbyen alle 32 Bilder
in der großen Bildergalerie 1 ->
Bildergalerie 1 - Spitzbergen 2008
Von entfernteren Orten auf Spitzbergen alle 40 Bilder
in der großen Bildergalerie 2 ->
Bildergalerie 2 - Spitzbergen 2008
die Arktis

Seit vielen Jahren fahren bereits teure Kreuzfahrtschiffe weit in den Norden an die polare Eiskante heran - und auch nach Spitzbergen. Für eine solche Tour ist jahrelanges eisernes Geld sparen notwendig. Im Sommer 2007 habe ich jedoch zufällig entdeckt, dass Flüge nach Spitzbergen und ein Übernachten auf dem Campingplatz (direkt am Flugplatz für 90 NOK, 2008) eine überraschend bezahlbare Kombination sein können. Gedacht - gebucht.

Es war hell. Es war kalt. Es war ein Abenteuer.

Flugplatz am Fjord Zeltplatz-Gebäude Vogelblick Frostsprengung Gletscher 35 km entfernt Isfjord nachts
Flugplatz Zelt Vogelblick Frost entfernt Isfjord

Es gibt verschiedene Varianten für die Bezeichnung der Inselgruppe. Im deutschen wird üblicherweise von "Spitzbergen" gesprochen. Die Norweger dagegen, die die Inseln beaufsichtigen, nennen das Archipel "Svalbard". (Vest-)Spitsbergen heißt für sie nur die größte der Inseln, auf der auch alle Siedlungen liegen.

Das Eingangstor zur Inselwelt ist der norwegische Hauptort Longyearbyen, der sich in das Longyeardal hinaufzieht und auch entlang des Adventfjords erstreckt. Der wiederum ist das geflutete Ende des Adventdal und mündet selbst in den riesigen Isfjord. Neben Longyearbyen gibt es noch zwei weitere norwegische Siedlungen und (nur) noch eine russische Ortschaft.

Adventfjord Siedlung Hiorthhamn Kohlehafen Longyearbyen Einkaufsmeile Alt-Longyearbyen mit Kirche Blick ins Tal
Adventfjord Hiorthhamn Kohlehafen Longyearbyen Ortsteile Blick ins Tal

Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts begann auf Spitzbergen die große Suche nach Rohstoffen. Vor rund 100 Jahren wurden die ersten Kohleminen in die Berge getrieben.

Die Kohleschicht hatte eine Dicke von rund 80 bis 120 cm und befand ich 300 bis 400 m über den Fjorden. Somit musste die abgebaute Kohle einfach nur aus den Bergflanken heraus und hinunter zum Hafen transportiert werden. Dies wurde für Jahrzehnte von Seilbahnen durchgeführt. Noch heute prägen die Holzständer das Ortsbild.

gute Kohle alte Mine 1 im Berg Mine 2 / Gruve 2 Longyeardalen Seilbahnzentrale Kohletransport schon vor 100 Jahren
gute Kohle Mine 1 Mine 2 Longyeardal Seilbahn Kohletransport

Aufgrund der Eisbärengefahr außerhalb von Longyearbyen ist bei Wanderungen stets ein entsprechendes Gewehr mitzunehmen. Bei geführten Wanderungen hat der Guide die notwendige Technik und Erfahrung dabei. Inzwischen gibt es etliche Reiseunternehmen in und um Longyearbyen, die Stunden-, Tages- und längere Touren anbieten.

weites Adventdalen Svalbardmohn über den Larsbreen (Gletscher) Trollsteinen Svalsat in der Ferne alte Schneefelder
Adventdalen Svalbardmohn Larsbreen Trollsteinen Svalsat Altschnee

Das Wetter war im August 2008 etwas kälter und etwas nasser als im Durchschnitt. Die Temperaturen stiegen nicht über 10 Grad C. In den Bergen war nachts immer wieder Frost möglich. Niederschlag in Form von Land- oder Nieselregen war keine Ausnahme. Eines Morgens lag Schnee rund um und auf den Zelten. Das Wort "Nacht" ist im Sommer übrigens gleichbedeutend mit "Sonne weit über dem Horizont". Dunkel ist es nur in den Kohleminen.

Spitzbergen insgesamt ist zwar Wildnis, aber Longyearbyen ist eine Kleinstadt wie fast jede andere in Nordeuropa: mit Supermarkt, Post, Restaurants, Schule, mehreren Outdoorläden und einer Bibliothek.

Blick über den Gletscher Rentier mit Winterspeck Hiorthfjellet noch eine Bergmine ganz oben in den Schneewolken Adventfluss-Delta
Eissicht dickes Ren Hiorthfjellet Bergmine ganz oben Adventdelta

Mit verschiedenen Schiffen ist es möglich, sich auf Tagestouren die Fjorde und Gletscher der Umgebung anzugucken. Auf der Bootsfahrt zur russischen Siedlung Barentsburg zum Beispiel macht das Schiff zuvor halt vor der Abbruchkante des Esmarkbreen. Und ich hätte es wirklich nicht erwartet, aber während der Fahrt vom Gletscher weg habe ich einen Eisbären am Ufer gesehen.

auf dem Schiff Polargirl Esmarkbreen am Isfjord Schiffsgröße vorm Gletscher der Eisbär Barentsburg russische Siedlung
Polargirl Esmarkbreen Schiffsgröße der Bär Barentsburg Russisch
Svalbard

Eben noch den Bären vom Schiff aus gesehen, ging es kurz darauf zu fünft für vier Tage quer durch die Landschaft von Barentsburg zurück nach Longyearbyen. Wenn es alles gut klappt...
Und nachts mit dem "beruhigendem" Gefühl, dass der Draht um die Zelte und die dazugehörigen Signalraketen uns schon wecken würden, falls ein Eisbär vorbeischaut.

Schön ist auch das Kribbeln, wenn nach der Querung eines knietiefen Flusses mit nur knapp über 0 Grad C das Blut in den nackten Füssen wieder in Bewegung kommt.

Warnung vor Bären immer weiter Zelte Signaldraht mit Raketen Flussquerung bei fast 0 Grad C
Warnung weiter Zelte Signaldraht Flussquerung

Beim Erwachen nach der zweiten Nacht in der Wildnis wirkte plötzlich alles so hell. Das Öffnen des Zeltes brachte die Lösung: es hatte geschneit. Die tief zerfurchten Tafelberge mit ihren endlosen Geröllwüsten sind für sich schon kaum beschreibbar oder fassbar, aber mit einer frischen weißen Schneekappe oben drauf wirken sie wieder ganz anders. Der August macht's möglich.

Schnee am Morgen Wandergruppe weites Colesdalen Synndalen Schneeberge den ganzen Tag Grumantbyen am Ufer
Schneenacht Wandern Colesdalen Synndalen Schneeberge Grumantbyen

An den vier Wandertagen haben wir keinen weiteren Bären mehr gesehen. Auch nachts war offenbar keiner in der Nähe. Am letzten der vier Tage waren in einem Schneefeld allerdings frische Bärenspuren zu sehen. Wie ich später hörte, musste nicht weit entfernt davon in jenen Tagen ein Jungbär erschossen werden, als er einen Menschen angreifen wollte.

August in 78 Grad Nord Svalsat auf dem Plateau NASA-Kugel Lichtspiel auf dem Isfjord
August Plateau NASA Lichtspiel

Eine zweite Bootstour führte mich (diesmal ohne anschließende Wanderung) nach Osten an die Enden des Isfjords zur russischen Siedlung Pyramiden am Fuße des gleichnamigen Berges. Pyramiden war lange Zeit die zweite sowjetische Siedlung auf Spitzbergen, wurde aber vor einigen Jahren von heute auf morgen aufgegeben. Sie ist heute eine Geisterstadt.

zweite Tour per Boot Pyramiden sowjetische Architektur Möwenstadt bzw. Geisterstadt Kohleberg im Hintergrund
zweite Tour Pyramiden Sowjetisch Möwenstadt Kohleberg
am Kultur- und Sporthaus alte Zeiten fast 80 Grad Nord Holzweg auf Wasserleitungen
Geschichte alte Zeit fast 80 Grad Wasserweg

Nach der geführten Tour durch Pyramiden geht die Bootsfahrt weiter zum riesigen Gletscher Nordenskjøldbreen. Während dieser Fahrt erreiche ich meinen (vorläufig?) nördlichsten Punkt bei rund 78 Grad und 40 Minuten Nord. Für viele Entdecker und Forscher ging es in den letzten Jahrhunderten in diesen Breiten erst richtig los, und zwar ohne die heutige technische Ausrüstung.

zum Gletscher Fjordende am Gletscher Nordenskjøldbreen Wetter in allen Varianten Schneekappe auf den Gipfeln
Ziel Fjordende Nordenskjø. Wetter Schneekappe

Auf der Rückfahrt nach Longyearbyen hat sich die Berglandschaft noch einmal von ihrer schönsten und beeindruckensten Seite gezeigt. Vom Boot aus konnte ich die zum Bünsowland gehörenden schneebedeckten schroffen Felswände bewundern.

Wann werde ich wieder nach Svalbard zurückkommen? Wie lange sieht Spitzbergen noch so aus wie heute?

Billefjord Schneegrat ganz oben Bünsowland markant steil bergab schroffer Fels
Billefjord Schneegrat Bünsowland steil schroff

» Linktipps

... meine zweite Reise nach Spitzbergen   2010

... noch mehr arktische Abenteuer: 2x Island   2002    2010  und Färöer   1998
 

Aktualisierte Endfassung vom 30.11.2008
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Svalbard Spitzbergen Spitsbergen Longyearbyen Isfjord Adventdal Kohle Eisbär Schneefeld Fjord Gletscher Barentsburg Esmarkbreen Colesdal Pyramiden Nordenskjøldbreen Bünsowland

extern  HTML! CSS!