Svartisen and Stockholm 1996

Where do I go?

This is a report of my journey to the large glacier Svartisen (Norway) and into the Swedish capital Stockholm.

My 15 pictures with comments
in the large picture gallery ->
Picture gallery Svartisen and Stockholm 1996

In the summer 1996 we went by train and with tents across Scandinavia for two weeks. We took different railways into the north (Mo i Rana) and we stopped for two nights in Oslo. During the return trip we stayed in Trondheim for one night and in Stockholm for three nights. Finally we passed the Large Belt in Denmark.

But I will begin in the north. The city Mo i Rana is just south of the Northern Polar Circle. A taxi took us from the tourist information to the glacier (four persons 500 NOK, 15 EUR each person, 1996).

Train station in Mo i Rana the Large Belt without bridge
Mo i Rana Stor Belt
Svartisen surroundings at the Polar Circle

Svartisen - the black ice - is the second largest glacier in Norway. It is northwest of Mo i Rana and not far away from the Atlantic. The highest point is called Istinden and 1577 meters high. The glacier (400 km²) is part of the Saltfjell Svartisen National Park.

A small ferry (50 NOK, about 7 EUR, 1996) goes on the lower glacier lake from one to the other side of the the lake. There you will find a path over glacier formed rocks to the upper glacier lake. The Svartis crashes directly into this lake. One full day at the glacier would be optimal. Maybe you see some big ice crashes into the lake.

lower glacier lake Glacier river in the evening at the edge of Svartisen upper glacier lake Ice moving and crashing Ice moving from a distance below the glacier
lower lake River Ice edge upper lake Moving Water below ice

We spend some days in the capital of Sweden (Stockholm) when we went home. The old town island Gamla Stan is the centre of Stockholm. It is situated on one of the islands which marks the end of lake Mälar in the east. Narrow lanes, some hills and many multicolored houses (and tourists) are typical for Gamla Stan. On this island and not far away from there are also many churches, museums and the Royal Castle.

If you are in Stockholm you have to visit the underground stations of the subway (Tunnelbana): many of them are designed in different interesting styles. The station Kungsträdgården in the middle of Stockholm is just one example for "art in the underground". Especially on the blue subway line you will see more of these stations.

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

Stockholm Map
Gamla Stan Stockholm Stockholm Riksdag building designed subway station Station Kungsträdgården
Old town Riksdag Subway Tunnelbana

» Links

... more of Stockholm   1995    2003    2004
 

Final updated version: 2008/11/30
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Norway Polar Circle Svartisen glacier ice glacier lake Mo i Rana Stockholm Tunnelbanan Gamla Stan Stor Belt

external  HTML! CSS!

Svartisen und Stockholm 1996

Wohin geht es?

Es folgt ein Bericht meiner Reise zum großen Gletscher Svartisen (Norwegen) und in die schwedische Hauptstadt Stockholm.

Alle 15 Bilder mit Kommentaren
in einer großen Bildergalerie ->
Bildergalerie Svartisen und Stockholm 1996

Im Sommer 1996 fuhren wir zwei Wochen lang mit Bahn und Zelt durch Skandinavien. Mit verschiedenen Eisenbahnzügen sind wir über Oslo (zwei Übernachtungen) nordwärts nach Mo i Rana gefahren. Die Rückfahrt erfolgte über Trondheim (eine Übernachtung) und Stockholm (drei Übernachtungen, siehe unten auf dieser Seite) weiter nach Dänemark über den Großen Belt.

Anfangen möchte ich aber gleich im Norden. Die Stadt Mo i Rana liegt fast auf dem nördlichen Polarkreis. Ein Taxi brachte uns von der Touristeninformation in Richtung Gletscher (vier Personen für 500 NOK, also 15 Euro pro Person, 1996).

Bahnhof Mo i Rana Großer Belt vor Vollendung der Brücke
Mo i Rana Großer Belt
Svartisen Region am Polarkreis

Svartisen - das schwarze Eis - ist der zweitgrößte Gletscher in Norwegen. Er liegt nordwestlich von Mo i Rana und ist nicht weit vom Atlantik entfernt. Die höchste Erhebung ist Istinden mit 1577 Metern. Der Gletscher (400 km²) liegt im Saltfjell-Svartisen-Nationalpark.

Eine kleine Fähre (50 NOK, rund 7 Euro, 1996) schippert auf dem unteren Gletschersee zum anderen Ufer. Dort beginnt ein Pfad, der über abgeschliffenes Gestein zum oberen Gletschersee führt. Der Svartis kalbt direkt in diesen See hinein. Ein ganzer Tag am Gletscher wäre optimal, um einige Eisabbrüche mitzuerleben.

unterer Gletschersee Gletscherfluss abends an der Kante des Svartisen oberer Gletschersee Gletscherkalbung aus der Nähe Eisabbruch aus der Ferne unter dem Gletschereis
unterer See Fluss Eiskante oberer See Kalbung Abbruch unterm Eis

Auf der Rückreise haben wir uns noch etwas länger in Schwedens Hauptstadt Stockholm aufgehalten. Die Alte Stadt (Gamla Stan) ist das Zentrum von Stockholm. Sie liegt auf einer der Inseln, die den Mälarsee im Osten begrenzen. Enge Gassen, einige Hügel und viele bunte Häuser (und Touristen) prägen das Bild. Auf und nahe der Altstadtinsel befinden sich auch viele Kirchen, Museen und das Königliche Schloß.

Sehr sehenswert sind auch die U-Bahnhöfe der Tunnelbana: viele wurden künstlerisch gestaltet. Ein Besuch der Untergrundbahnhöfe wie zum Beispiel des zentralen Bahnhofs Kungsträdgården lohnt auf jeden Fall. Die blaue Linie bietet die meisten (und neuesten) Kunst-Stationen.

Stockholm Karte
Gamla Stan Stockholm Stockholm Reichstag gestalteter U-Bahnhof Bahnhof Kungsträdgården
Altstadt Reichstag U-Bahn Tunnelbana

» Linktipps

... mehr Stockholm   1995    2003    2004
 

Aktualisierte Endfassung vom 30.11.2008
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Norwegen Polarkreis Svartisen Gletscher Eis Kalbung Gletschersee Mo i Rana Stockholm Tunnelbanan Gamla Stan Großer Belt

extern  HTML! CSS!