Copenhagen and Zealand 1994

Where do I go?

The following report is a short travel guide for Copenhagen, the capital of Denmark. In June 1994 I was in Copenhagen (in Danish: København) for one week. I visited also some cities on the east Danish island Zealand (in Danish: Sjælland). Finally I was in Sweden in Helsingborg for some hours.

My 15 pictures with comments
in the large picture gallery ->
Picture gallery Copenhagen 1994

The Danish capital was created in the year 1167. Today there are living about 1.5 million people. And in the future Copenhagen, the Swedish city Malmö and other places are becoming a big connected area.

The city center of Copenhagen is marked by the pedestrian street "Strøget". It is approximately one kilometer long, begins in the southwest at the town hall square (Rådhus Plads) and ends in the northeast at the Kongens Nytorv. Nearly all objects of interest of Copenhagen are situated not far away from Strøget.

At the Rådhus Plads is the town hall. The famous amusement park "Tivoli" and the main station "København H" are somewhat southwest. The Tivoli is open until late into the night. At some days there is fireworks at midnight. At the edge of the Tivoli lies "Louis Tussaud´s".

on the town hall square Amusement park Tivoli Street in Copenhagen
Rådhusplads Tivoli evening København
City center of Copenhagen

Some streets north of Strøget you can see the Round Tower (Runde Tårn). It is 36 meters high and has no steps. Only a turning ramp goes up to the top. The Botanic Garden of Copenhagen and the castle Rosenborg are situated not far away from the tower.

The parliament is working in Christiansborg south of Strøget behind a channel.

In the east of the city you find the square Kongens Nytorv. Here begins the New Harbour (Nyhavn). It is the departure place for inexpensive sightseeing ferries. Nyhavn transforms into a lively pub mile at night.

From Kongens Nytorv you can go to the Marble Church and the castle Amalienborg. And one kilometer farther you will see the really Little Mermaid (Den lille Havfrue) sitting on a small rock at the Yderhavn.

Nyhavn New Harbour Little Mermaid Marble Church
Nyhavn New Harbour Little Mermaid Marble Church

Travel tours into the environment of Copenhagen are also very recommendable. As one example Helsingør is in the north of the island Zealand (Sjælland). The UNESCO declared the well received town centre with its timber buildings as World Heritage. Only some minutes (by ferry) away from Helsingør is Sweden and the city Helsingborg. [Between Copenhagen and Helsingør you find a train service every 20 minutes. The tour takes you about one hour.]

Roskilde is in the middle of Zealand and west of Copenhagen. Already the gigantic cathedral of Roskilde is reason enough for going there. Finally you can find many more cosy cities and villages at the coast of Zealand.

Looking at Sweden Helsingborg Helsingør World Heritage Køge Roskilde
Sweden Helsingborg Helsingør World Heritage Køge Roskilde

Since the 1st of July 2000 you can use the Øresund bridge between the Danish island Amager (Copenhagen Airport) and the Swedish Malmö. Going by train over the bridge and into the tunnel is a special experience. The journey from Kastrup Airport to Malmö and back costs approximately 15 EUR in the year 2002.

This was my first journey to Northern Europe ever. And it was just the beginning...

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

» Links

... more of Copenhagen   2005
 

Final updated version: 2008/11/30
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Copenhagen København Zealand Helsingør Helsingborg Roskilde Køge Tivoli Strøget Nyhavn Øresund Marble Church Little Mermaid

external  HTML! CSS!

Kopenhagen und Seeland 1994

Wohin geht es?

Der folgende Bericht ist ein kurzer Reiseführer für Kopenhagen, die Hauptstadt von Dänemark. Ich war im Juni 1994 eine Woche lang in Kopenhagen (auf dänisch: København), in der Umgebung auf der ostdänischen Insel Seeland und in Helsingborg/Schweden unterwegs.

Alle 15 Bilder mit Kommentaren
in einer großen Bildergalerie ->
Bildergalerie Kopenhagen 1994

Die dänische Hauptstadt wurde im Jahr 1167 gegründet. Heute leben dort rund 1,5 Millionen Menschen. Und in Zukunft werden Kopenhagen, das schwedische Malmö und andere Orte weiter zu einem größeren Ballungsgebiet zusammenwachsen.

Das Zentrum Kopenhagens bildet die Fußgängerstraße "Strøget". Sie ist rund einen Kilometer lang, beginnt im Südwesten am Rathausplatz (Rådhus Plads) und endet im Nordosten am Kongens Nytorv. Fast alle Sehenswürdigkeiten Kopenhagens sind nicht weit von Strøget entfernt.

Am Rådhus Plads steht natürlich das Rathaus. Etwas weiter südwestlich liegt der Vergnügungspark "Tivoli" und der Hauptbahnhof "København H". Das Tivoli hat bis spät in die Nacht geöffnet. An einigen Tagen gibt es gegen Mitternacht ein Feuerwerk. Am Rande des Tivoli liegt das Wachsfigurenkabinett "Louis Tussaud´s".

auf dem Rathausplatz Vergnügungspark Tivoli Nebenstraße in Kopenhagen
Rådhusplads Tivoli abends København
Innenstadt Kopenhagen

Einige Nebenstraßen nördlich von Strøget steht der Runde Turm (Runde Tårn). Er ist 36 Meter hoch und besitzt keine Stufen, sondern nur eine Wenderampe. Noch etwas weiter entfernt liegen der Botanische Garten und das Schloß Rosenborg.

Südlich der Bummelmeile hinter dem Stadtkanal befindet sich Christiansborg, der Parlamentssitz.

Im Osten am Kongens Nytorv beginnt der Neue Hafen (Nyhavn). Dort ist die Abfahrtsstelle für preiswerte Kanaltouren. Nachts verwandelt sich der Nyhavn in eine belebte Kneipenmeile.

Vom Kongens Nytorv geht es zum Schloß Amalienborg mit täglicher Wachablösung. Und einen Kilometer weiter sitzt die wirklich Kleine Meerjungfrau (Den lille Havfrue) auf einem Stein am Yderhavn.

Nyhavn Neuer Hafen Kleine Meerjungfrau Marmorkirche
Nyhavn Neuer Hafen Meerjungfrau Marmorkirche

Sehr empfehlenswert sind auch Ausflüge in die Umgebung von Kopenhagen. Im Norden der Insel Seeland liegt Helsingør. Die UNESCO hat den gut erhaltenen Stadtkern aus Holzhäusern zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt. Wenige Fährminuten von Helsingør entfernt liegt bereits Schweden mit der Stadt Helsingborg. [Von Kopenhagen fahren alle 20 Minuten Regionalbahnen nach Helsingør. Fahrtzeit knapp eine Stunde.]

In Richtung Westen liegt Roskilde. Allein die riesige Domkirche ist schon einen Besuch wert. Schließlich gibt es noch viele weitere gemütliche Ortschaften an den Küsten von Seeland.

Umgebung auf Seeland
Schweden in Sicht Helsingborg Helsingør Kulturerbe Køge Roskilde
Schweden Helsingborg Helsingør Kulturerbe Køge Roskilde

Seit dem 1. Juli 2000 ist die Öresundverbindung zwischen der dänischen Insel Amager (Copenhagen Airport) und dem schwedischen Malmö in Betrieb. Eine Fahrt über die Brücke und durch den Tunnel ist ein besonderes Erlebnis. Die Retur-Bahnfahrt vom Kopenhagener Flughafen Kastrup nach Malmö kostete im Jahr 2002 rund 15 Euro.

Damit endet die erste Reise meines Lebens nach Nordeuropa. Sie war nur der Auftakt in Richtung Norden...

» Linktipps

... mehr Kopenhagen   2005

Aktualisierte Endfassung vom 30.11.2008
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Kopenhagen København Seeland Helsingør Helsingborg Roskilde Køge Tivoli Strøget Nyhavn Öresund Mamorkirche Meerjungfrau S-tog

extern  HTML! CSS!