Finland and Baltic States 2001

Where do I go?

The following photos and textes are the result of my journey in the bigger cities of the south of Finland and of the Baltic states. In addition we did also some trips into the nature of Finland, Estonia and Latvia.

My 39 pictures with comments
in the large picture gallery ->
Picture gallery South of Finland and the Baltic States 2001

In August 2001 we went for four weeks in the south of Finland and in the Baltic States from youth hostel to youth hostel. For the journey we took ferries, trains and busses, but also a taxi, a cableway and a canoe. During this tour we had to pre and reset our watches for several times. My time data in this report were valid in summer 2001.

In Rostock/Germany we took the fast ferry FinnJet of the Silja Line to Helsinki. For about 50 EUR (2001) we were for 26 hours on board.
» Finnish time: CEST (Central European Summertime) +1 hour.

In Finlands capital Helsinki you find two well booked Youth Hostels in the city centre. I cannot recommend the something off lying "Stadium Hostel" because of missing cleanness. Helsinki has a rather uninteresting architecture. Exceptions are the modern Temppeliaukio Church which is carved out of rock and the old fortress Suomenlinna in the harbour. But Finland is anyway much more a country of the lakes and forests.

the port of Helsinki Helsinki fish market Temppeliaukio Church, carved out of rock on the harbour island Suomenlinna Subway station Vuosaari
Port Helsinki Cathedral Suomenlinna Vuosaari
Capital Helsinki

After four days in Helsinki we continued the journey with going by train into the eastern lake area to Savonlinna. There we discovered the typical Finland with the blue lakes and green forests. The castle Olavinlinna is in the city center of Savonlinna (entrance only with guidance, reduce 4 EUR, 2001). The castle was alternate in the possession of Sweden or Russia. A paddle tour with a canoe is also very recommendable in Savonlinna: we paid only 12 EUR for a whole day.

Fortress Olavinlinna in Savonlinna in the fortress tower calm lake in the evening Stage at the Saimaasee Skerries in the lake
Olavinlinna Tower calm lake Stage Skerries
Savonlinna between the lakes

Turku was our last stop in Finland. This city is situated in the southwest of Finland and within many skerries. As everywhere in Finland we ate also in Turku a large pizza and salad and a glass of milk for only 5 EUR.

On the way back to Helsinki something special happened in the train: in a local train it seems to be duty to have a seat reservation. We bought this in the train - but there were no seat numbers on it! After arriving in Helsinki we went by ferry to Tallinn. There are several passages by ship or fast ferry to Estonia each day.
» Estonian time: CEST.

the castle in Turku old power station in Turku World of skerries near Turku Reservation ticket without seat numbers
Castle Turku Power station Skerries Reservation ticket
the South of Finland

In the middle of the old town of the Estonian capital Tallinn we slept in the "Hostel Vana Tom" for only 13 EUR (2001). The old town of Tallinn is devided into two parts: the upper and the lower town. Only old colored houses are located in both parts: some of them are renovated, some are not shining any longer in fresh colors and the remaining a rather broken. And around both parts you find a complete city wall with many watch towers: you have to visit some towers! In my opinion the old town of Tallinn is one of the most beautiful in Europe and already alone a reason for a journey.

View to the upper city Tallinn lower part of Tallinn City wall in Tallinn in the lower part of the town early in the morning in Tallinn
upper city Tallinn Wall Lane Morning
the Baltic States

For only 13 EUR (student, 2001) I bought a retur ticket for a bus and ferry trip to Kärdla on the island Hiiumaa. Hiiumaa is one of the two large western islands in the Baltic Sea. At night you can see many more stars at the sky than anywhere else over the illuminated Central Europe.

Peace on the island Hiiumaa the Baltic Sea coast
Hiiumaa Baltic Sea
from Tallinn to the island Hiiumaa

After sleeping one more night in Tallinn we went by train and bus in an adventurous way to Riga. But there are also busses in a direct way between the two capitals. However here I present you the expiration of 2001:

7:32 - 12:05 Express Train to the border in Valga (Estonia)/ 6 EUR
then taxi to the frontier crossing near the town/ 2 EUR
and by foot to the bus station in Valka (Latvia)
15:30 - 16:50 Bus to Valmiera/ 1,30 EUR
17:50 - 19:40 Express Bus to Riga/ 2,20 EUR
» Latvian time: CEST +1 hour.

The latvian capital Riga and most of the houses are very similar to my hometown Berlin. The old town was completely reorganized. We saw only a short part of the city wall. From Riga we took local trains to Jurmala and the endless Baltic Sea beaches (1,20 EUR, 2001) and into the Gaujas Nacionalais Parks near Sigulda (2,60 EUR, 2001). Two times a day railway trains go from Riga to Vilnius and farther (travel time about six hours).
» Lithuanian time: CEST.

View over the center of Riga Riga cathedral at the end of the lane the old guild in Riga Blackhead house Market halls and TV tower Riga Gaujas Nacionalais Parks
Old town Riga Cathedral Guild Riga Riga Market Sigulda

The lithuanian capital Vilnius is a fine small city with many churches. The city centre consists of very well modernized houses which are interrupted again and again by churches. In difference to Riga you find a perfect appearing city. As in all formerly socialist cities there are also concrete slab buildings settlements at the border of Vilnius. The KGB Genocid Museum in the city centre shows in a very shocking way how the different states "lived" and acted in Lithuania.

View over the center of Vilnius Vilnius Cathedral Church Saint Nicolas Concrete slab buildings settlement at the TV tower TV tower Vilnius
Vilnius view Cathedral Nicolas Concrete slab TV tower

The return trip to Berlin began in Vilnius in a cosy Polish night train in the evening. In the next morning we had in Warsaw only ten minutes time for changing the train to Berlin. However this was still enough time for taking a picture of the Culture Palace Warsaw.

In all the three Baltic capitals we saw und took many trolly busses, in Tallinn and Riga also tramways. The prices for a single ticket were very low in the year 2001: Vilnius 0,28 EUR/ Riga 0,31 EUR/ Tallinn 0,32 EUR. The bakeries are more inexpensive than the transportation tickets in the Baltic states: for about 0,20 EUR we got delicious cake which was still made by hand - and not industrial.

The three Baltic capitals Tallinn, Riga and Vilnius have each their own character. One thing they do all: change.

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

Culture Palace Warsaw Tickets of the Baltic Cities
Palace Baltic tickets

» Links

... more of Tallinn and Estonia   2005
 

Final updated version: 2008/11/30
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Baltic states Finland Helsinki fortress Savonlinna Turku Estonia Tallinn city wall Hiiumaa Latvia Riga Lithuania Vilnius TV tower

external  HTML! CSS!

Finnland und Baltikum 2001

Wohin geht es?

Die nachfolgenden Fotos und Texte handeln von meiner Reise durch die Städte im Süden Finnlands und im Baltikum. Aber auch ein paar Naturausflüge gehören dazu.

Alle 39 Bilder mit Kommentaren
in einer großen Bildergalerie ->
Bildergalerie Süd-Finnland und Baltikum 2001

Im August 2001 sind wir vier Wochen lang durch Süd-Finnland und das Baltikum von Jugendherberge zu Jugendherberge gefahren. Dies geschah mit Schiffen, Bahnen und Bussen, aber auch mit dem Taxi, einer Seilbahn und dem Kanu. Während dieser Tour mussten einige Male die Uhren vor- und zurückgestellt werden. Meine Angaben zu den Zeitumstellungen haben den Stand vom Sommer 2001.

Gestartet sind wir mit dem FinnJet der Silja-Line in Rostock. Er flitzt schon für rund 50 Euro (2001) die 26 Stunden über das Wasser nach Helsinki.
» Finnische Zeit: Uhr vorstellen! (MESZ+1)

In Finnlands Haupstadt Helsinki gibt es zwei sehr gefragte Youth Hostels im Stadtzentrum. Das etwas abseits liegende "Stadion Hostel" kann ich wegen mangelnder Sauberkeit nicht empfehlen. Architektonisch ist Helsinki eher uninteressant. Ausnahmen sind die moderne Felsenkathedrale und die alte Festung Suomenlinna im Hafengebiet. Aber Finnland ist sowieso viel mehr ein Land der Seen und Wälder.

der Hafen von Helsinki Helsinki Fischmarkt Felsenkathedrale Hafeninsel Suomenlinna U-Bahnhof Vuosaari
Hafen Helsinki Kathedrale Suomenlinna Vuosaari
das Zentrum von Helsinki

Nach vier Tagen sind wir mit der Bahn weiter ins östliche Seengebiet nach Savonlinna gefahren. Dort liegt das typische Finnland mit blauen Seen und grünen Wäldern. Im Zentrum der Stadt Savonlinna steht die Burg Olavinlinna (Eintritt nur mit Führung, ermäßigt 4 Euro, 2001). Die Burg war abwechselnd im Besitz der Schweden und Russen. Sehr empfehlenswert ist eine Paddeltour mit dem Kanu: wir haben für einen ganzen Tag nur 12 Euro bezahlt.

Festung Olavinlinna in Savonlinna im Festungsturm ruhiger See am Abend Steg am Saimaasee Schären im See
Olavinlinna Turm Ruhe am See Steg Fels
Savonlinna zwischen den Seen

Unsere letzte Station in Finnland war Turku, eine Stadt im Südwesten inmitten der Schärenwelt. Dort haben wir - wie in ganz Finnland - große Pizzen plus Salatteller plus ein Glas Milch für rund 5 Euro zu uns genommen.

Auf der Rückfahrt mit der Bahn geschah dann folgendes: im Regionalzug war scheinbar eine Reservierung Pflicht. Diese haben wir im Zug dann nachgekauft - allerdings standen dort keine Sitzplatznummern drauf! In Helsinki werden täglich mehrere Überfahrten mit dem Schiff oder Katamaran nach Tallinn angeboten.
» Estnische Zeit: Uhr wieder zurückstellen! (MESZ)

die Burg in Turku E-Werk in Turku Schärenwelt vor Turku Platzkarte ohne Sitzplatznummern
Burg Turku E-Werk Schären Platzkarte
der Süden Finnlands und die Umgebung

Mitten in der Altstadt der estnischen Hauptstadt Tallinn liegt das "Hostel Vana Tom", in dem Übernachtungen ab 13 Euro möglich sind (2001). Die Altstadt von Tallinn besteht aus Ober- und Unterstadt. In beiden Teilen stehen nur alte farbige Häuser: einige sind frisch renoviert, etliche nicht mehr ganz so leuchtend und die übrigen sehen ziemlich verfallen aus. Und drumherum steht eine massive Stadtmauer mit vielen Wehrtürmen: unbedingt vorbei- und reinschauen. Meiner Meinung nach ist die Talliner Altstadt eine der schönsten in ganz Europa und allein schon deshalb eine Reise wert.

Blick zur Oberstadt Tallinn Unterstadt Tallinn Stadtmauer Tallinn in der Unterstadt frühmorgens in Tallinn
Oberstadt Tallinn Mauer Gasse frühs
das Baltikum

Für 13 Euro (Student, 2001) fuhr ich mit Bus und Fähre auf die Insel Hiiumaa nach Kärdla (und zurück). Hiiumaa ist eine der beiden großen Ostsee-Inseln westlich des estnischen Festlandes. Nachts zeigt der Himmel dort viel mehr Sterne als irgendwo über dem ausgeleuchteten Mitteleuropa.

Ruhe auf der Insel Hiiumaa die Ostseeküste
Hiiumaa Ostsee
von Tallinn zur Insel Hiiumaa

Nach einer weiteren Übernachtung in Tallinn fuhren wir auf abenteuerliche Art und Weise mit Bahn und Bus nach Riga. Es fahren aber auch durchgehende und schnelle Busse. Hier aber nun der Ablauf von 2001:

7:32 - 12:05 D-Zug zur Grenze nach Valga (Estland) für 6 Euro
dann Taxi zum Grenzübergang am Stadtrand für 2 Euro
und zu Fuß zum Busbahnhof in Valka (Lettland)
15:30 - 16:50 Bus nach Valmiera für 1,30 Euro
17:50 - 19:40 Expressbus nach Riga für 2,20 Euro
» Lettische Zeit: Uhr wieder vorstellen! (MESZ+1)

Die lettische Haupstadt Riga sieht mit all den Jugendstilhäusern meiner Heimatstadt Berlin sehr ähnlich. Die Altstadt wurde komplett saniert. Von der Stadtmauer steht nur noch eine kurze Wand. Von Riga bieten sich Bahn-Ausflüge auf die Jurmala-Landzunge mit ihren endlosen Ostseestränden (1,20 Euro, 2001) und in den Gaujas Nacionalais Parks bei Sigulda (2,60 Euro, 2001) an. Zweimal täglich fahren Eisenbahnzüge von Riga nach Vilnius und noch weiter (Fahrtdauer sechs Stunden).
» Litauische Zeit: Uhr wieder zurückstellen! (MESZ)

Blick über Rigas Zentrum Riga Dom am Ende der Gasse die alten Gilden in Riga Blackhead-Haus Markthallen und Fernsehturm Riga Gaujas Nacionalais Parks
Altstadt Riga Dom Rigas Gilden Riga Markt Sigulda

Die litauische Haupstadt Vilnius ist eine feine kleine Stadt mit etlichen Kirchen. Das Stadtzentrum besteht aus sehr gut modernisierten Häuserzeilen, die immer wieder von Kirchen unterbrochen werden. Anders als in Riga ergibt sich in Vilnius aber ein abgerundetes Gesamtbild der Innenstadt. Am Stadtrand gibt es - wie in allen ehemals sozialistischen Städten - klotzige Plattenbausiedlungen aus Beton. Das KGB-Genocid-Museum im Stadtzentrum zeigt sehr anschaulich und schockierend, wie die verschiedenen Besatzer im Land gehaust haben.

Blick über Vilnius Vilnius Kathedrale Kirche Sankt Nicolas Plattenbausiedlung am Fernsehturm Fernsehturm Vilnius
ganz Vilnius Kathedrale Nicolas Plattenbau TV-Turm

Die Rückfahrt nach Berlin begann abends in Vilnius im gemütlichen polnischen Nachtzug. Am nächsten Morgen hatten wir in Warszawa wegen einer Verspätung nur zehn Minuten Zeit zum Umsteigen in den EuroCity nach Berlin. Das war aber noch genug Zeit um noch schnell ein Foto vom Kulturpalast zu machen.

In allen drei baltischen Hauptstädten fuhren viele Troll- bzw. O-Buslinien, in Tallinn und Riga auch Straßenbahnen bzw. Trams. Die Preise für die Einzelfahrscheine waren im Jahr 2001 sehr niedrig: Vilnius 0,28 Euro / Riga 0,31 Euro / Tallinn 0,32 Euro. Noch preiswerter sind in den baltischen Staaten die Bäckereien: für rund 0,20 Euro gibt es köstlichen Kuchen, der noch von Hand gemixt und geformt wurde. Also kein Industrieprodukt.

Die baltischen Hauptstädte Tallinn, Riga und Vilnius haben jede für sich ihren ganz besonderen Charakter. Eines sind sie alle gemeinsam: im Umbruch.

Kulturpalast Warszawa Tickets aus dem Baltikum
Palast ÖPNV-Tickets

» Linktipps

... mehr Tallinn und Estland   2005
 

Aktualisierte Endfassung vom 30.11.2008
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Baltikum Finnland Helsinki Savonlinna Turku Estland Tallinn Stadtmauer Hiiumaa Lettland Riga Litauen Vilnius Turm

extern  HTML! CSS!